Mixing/Mastering - Studio

 

 

 

As a songwriter I record vocals, bass, guitars and keyboards analog in the studio. However that also includes  virtual instruments (East West/ Kontakt Ultimate etc.) and sample libraries if required.

 

I don't do complex recordings (big bands, choirs or orchestras) in my studio. For complex recordings please get in contact with a studio with appropriate spatial equipment.

 

Mission Statement

 

What makes a good mix? What I usually hear is "It should sound good..." and "It should be loud..." . Both are absolutely justified demands and belong to the goals of every mixer. In the last decades audio quality has increased enormously and the access to making music and producing has expanded greatly in the online world and requires even louder mixes in order to be on top of the cutting edge. For me this always means being on the sophisticated side when it comes to  technology and observing the latest developments of the market.

 

Beyond that, however, I believe a song can represent much more.

 

I can think of evergreens who were recorded decades ago and still reliably reach their listeners today. The vintage trend with the aim of making recordings sound as analog as possible has also become established.

 

But what is it we're looking for? What do we want to feel and experience?

 

 

 

 

I hear and see a song as a short  journey into another world. A short adventure, which attracts the attention of the listener from the very first second on and wins them over and over again - far from any monotony. The feeling at the beginning develops - even transforms.
It is important to emphasize the already existing character and not to crank up sounds.
To strengthen existing emotions, to set points of contrast, to create movements through transitions. To recognize the supporting instruments of the groove and to align the balance of the song with them.

 

This makes your song recognizably unique - and it is my aim to work out exactly this uniqueness.

I hear and see a song as a short abduction on a journey into another world. A short adventure, which attracts the attention of the listener from the very first second on and wins them over and over again - far from any monotony. The feeling at the beginning develops - even transforms.
It is important to emphasize the already existing character and not to crank up sounds.
To strengthen existing emotions, to set points of contrast, to create movements through transitions. To recognize the supporting instruments of the groove and to align the balance of the song with them.

 

This makes your song recognizably unique - and it is my aim to work out exactly this uniqueness.

 

Acoustics
Acoustics are often underestimated by beginners - room acoustics. I mix exclusively in acoustically optimized rooms in compliance with  the LiveEnd - DeadEnd principle and a familiar monitoring matrix.

 

Monitoring
I attach great importance to uncompromisingly good monitoring:
Only the highest quality components are used. For example the UAD Apollo interface, Dangerous Music Monitor Controller, Neumann KH 120 monitors / Auratones, Warm Audio Pultecs, 1073 Neve Preamps,1176 LA-2A, DBX, SSL Hardware Compressors,Kemper, Furman.

 

Hybrid Studio SetupIn my studio in Düsseldorf I use both the advantages of digital audio technology "in the box" (ITB) and the magic of analog equipment. HighEnd plugins of all well-known manufacturers (Universal Audio, SSL, Waves, Sonnox, Weiss, Acustica Audio) are used as well as Hardware (Dangerous Music,Neve 1073, SSL Bus Compressor, Lexicon, Roland, Aphex).

 

I use Cubase Pro 9.5 as DAW.

 

To know specific sound nuances exactly, to understand them and to use them in the right place is just as essential to me as the deep understanding of the song, its arrangement, the performance and the production.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Björn Schulz

Schinkelstr. 55
40211 Düsseldorf

Germany

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Druckversion Druckversion | Sitemap
© 2018 Mix my Song, Björn Schulz

Mixing/Mastering - Studio

 

 

Im "Mix my Song"-Mixing Studio in Düsseldorf mixe / master ich Songmaterial.

 

Im Songwriting nehme ich Gesang, Bass, Gitarren, Keyboards o.ä. analog im Studio auf. Aber auch virtuelle Instrumente (East West/ Kontakt Ultimate etc.)  und Sample Libraries kommen bei Bedarf zum Einsatz. 

 

Komplexere Aufnahmen (Schlagzeug, Bigbands, Chöre Orchester) gehören hingegen nicht in mein Arbeitsumfeld. Dazu verweise ich auf Recording Studios in deiner Nähe mit entsprechender räumlicher Ausstattung.

 

Philosophie
Was macht einen guten Mix aus? "Er sollte gut klingen ..." sowie "Er sollte laut sein..." -  ist oft zu  hören. Beides sind absolut berechtigte Forderungen und gehört zu den Zielen eines jeden Mixers. In den letzten Jahrzehnten ist schließlich Audioqualität enorm angestiegen und der Zugang zum Musizieren und Produzieren hat sich in der Onlinewelt stark ausgedehnt und verlangt immer lautere Mixe, um mithalten zu können. Auch für mich bedeutet dies immer auf dem neuesten Stand der Technik zu sein und die Neuigkeiten am Markt zu beobachten.

 

Darüber hinaus behaupte ich aber, dass ein Song weit mehr darstellen kann.

 

Mir fallen da die Evergreens ein, die vor Jahrzehnten aufgenommen worden sind und dennoch ihre Zuhörer zuverlässig heute noch erreichen. Auch der Vintage-Trend mit dem Ziel Aufnahmen möglichst analog klingen zu lassen hat sich etabliert.

 

Aber was ist es wonach wir suchen? Was wollen wir fühlen und erleben?

 

 

 

Ich höre und sehe einen Song als eine kurze Entführung auf eine Reise in eine andere Welt. Ein kleines Abenteuer, welches von der ersten Sekunde an die Aufmerksamkeit des Hörers an sich zieht, und diese immer wieder von Neuem gewinnt - fern ab jeder Monotonie. Das Gefühl zu Beginn entwickelt sich - ja transformiert sich.

Den ohnehin vorhandenen Charakter gilt es zu betonen und nicht etwa Klänge zu verkurbeln.

Die bestehenden Emotionen zu verstärken, Kontrastpunkte zu setzen, Bewegungen durch Transitionen zu erzeugen. Die tragenden Instrumente des Grooves zu erkennen und die Balance des Songs an ihnen auszurichten.

 

Dadurch wird Dein Song erkennbar einzigartig - und es geht mir darum genau diese Einzigartigkeit herauszuarbeiten. 

 

Akkustik
Von Anfängern oft sehr unterschätzt - die Raumakkustik. Ich mixe ausschliesslich in akkustisch optimierten Räumen nach dem Liveend - DeadEnd Prinzip und nach einer mir vertrauten Monitormatrix.

 

Monitoring

Grössten Wert lege ich auf kompromisslos gutes Monitoring:
Es kommen ausschliesslich hochwertigste Komponenten zum Einsatz. So zum Beispiel das UAD Apollo Interface,  Dangerous Music Monitor Controller, Neumann KH 120 Monitor Boxen / Auratones, Warm Audio, dbx, SSL Hardware Compressors, Kemper, Furman.

 

Hybrides Studio Setup

In meinem Studio in Düsseldorf nutze ich sowohl die Vorteile der digitalen Audio Technik "in the box" (ITB) als auch die Magie analogen Equipments. Im Einsatz sind HighEnd Plugins aller namenhaften Hersteller (Universal Audio,SSL,Waves,Sonnox,Weiss,Acustica Audio) als auch Hardware (Dangerous Music,Neve 1073, SSL Bus Kompressor, Lexicon, Roland, Aphex).

 

Als DAW verwende ich Cubase Pro 9.5.

Spezifischen Klangnuancen genaustens zu kennen, zu verstehen und am richtigen Ort zum Einsatz zu bringen empfinde ich genauso essentiell wie das tiefe Verständnis des Songs, seines Arrangements, der Performance und der Produktion.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Björn Schulz

Schinkelstr. 55
40211 Düsseldorf

Germany

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Druckversion Druckversion | Sitemap
© 2018 Mix my Song, Björn Schulz